Oli Burnett

Hi I'm Oli, and I have been working at Chailey Heritage for 10 years now. I started on the residences as a support worker way back in 2010. I came from adult services where I had been working for 3 years prior as a senior care worker. I always knew about Chailey and how well respected it was. I had only ever heard positive stories about the guys there, and how much enjoyment they had. How high the level of care was and the options that the young people had available was incredible. I decided for a change to children's services and applied to Chailey soon after. Thankfully, I was offered a support worker role, looking after a young man on Orchard bungalow. I then moved down to Brambles for about 5 years, and was then a senior support worker. I left briefly to go to university to study physiotherapy, but realised that this wasn't for me. I returned to Brambles and then just over 2 years ago, I became the deputy manager of Camelia bungalow. During this time, I have developed my managerial skills, as well as my knowledge in a variety of care aspects and services. I have worked with some incredible staff who put the young people before anything. The young people's needs and ambitions were always paramount and it was a pleasure to see them develop and grow as individuals, and that their person centred care was delivered to a level that allowed them to progress and live life to the fullest! Day trips to Chessington, Legoland, a week at Hindleap outdoor activity centre, Ice skating at Christmas, banger racing, football matches, the lot. After working on Camelia for some time, I then decided to take the step into senior management. I applied for the role of Pathways manager in January, was interviewed at the beginning of February, and was appointed a week later. After chatting with Rob and the amazing members of the community operations team, I cant wait to start working with all of our families and supporting them with the highest levels of care that we can provide.

I realise that this sounds more like a personal statement that a bio, and that most people will have stopped reading way before this point, but just to say a bit about myself outside of work. I am a big football fan. I support West Ham (i know, i know...) and play mid sussex football on a saturday, indoor football on a Monday and sometimes on a Thursday as well. I enjoy meeting friends out and about, going out for meals, the usual kind of stuff. Favourite food - Yorkshire puddings. I could eat them all day every day. Least favourite food - Raisins. Just dont see the point in them to be honest. They look unappetising and they taste even worse. Have been on stage with Nicko McBrain from Iron Maiden (I also play the drums so this is a big thing!) Favourite holiday destination - Florida - Favourite movie - Forest Gump - any unusual habits - i will occasionally just start singing a random song that may have popped into my head. Anyways, enough with the Bio, i look forward to seeing you all soon!

Donate Now